Review Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 1/26/2023 - 6:30 PM
Category: Student Recognitions
Type: Info
Subject: 3.1 Park Hill High School Seniors Awarded Scholarships through KC Scholars
Strategic Plan 2018-2023:
Provide Name(s) of Attachments
File Attachment:
Provide Background Details and Rationale: Congratulations to 12 Park Hill High School AVID seniors who received full-tuition scholarships (plus fees and textbooks) through KC Scholars.

KC Scholars is a college scholarship and college-savings program designed to create individual impact and to positively impact the Kansas City region’s economy and workforce.

The scholarship package is worth over $1.5 million; each scholarship is renewable for up to five years.

Mia Guerrero will be attending Kansas State University and Braelon Warren will be attending University of Central Missouri.

Future Avila University Eagles are Issy Aguilar, Kalkidan Alemayehu, Kiley Braun, Cyrus Brott, Javier Calderon, Miranda Cartagena, Aly Christian, Vanessa Grigsby, Jadah Jackson, Caitlyn James and Drew Price.

AVID elective teachers are Morgan Corten and Marc Harman.
Provide Funding Source and Estimated Cost:
Legal References
Name of Persons(s) Submitting Agenda Item with Title Kelly Wachel, Director of Communication Services
Presenter(s) if Presentation Anticipated Kelly Wachel, Director of Communication Services
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Kelly Wachel - Director of Communication Services
Signed By:
Dr. Mike Kimbrel - Superintendent